Port Huron DUI Lawyer
Those convicted of a DUI in Michigan often face life-altering consequences like a jail or prison sentence, hefty fines, a driver’s license suspension, increased car insurance premiums, driver’s license points, and a permanent record that cannot be expunged.
If you’ve been arrested for operating a vehicle while intoxicated or an OWI in Port Huron, you should reach out to an experienced Port Huron DUI lawyer at Davis Law Group immediately. With our legal team by your side, you can increase your chances of achieving the best possible outcome in your case.
Port Huron DUI Charges and Penalties
Your previous criminal history and blood alcohol content, or BAC level, will determine the penalties you face if you are convicted of an OWI in Port Huron. In addition, the judge’s evaluation of what is “reasonable” and the evidence, facts, and circumstances in your case will make a difference in your penalties.
First DUI Offense
Even a first-time OWI conviction in Port Huron, which is considered a misdemeanor, leads to serious penalties. Some of these penalties may include up to 93 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, up to 360 community service hours, a 30-day driver’s license suspension followed by a 150-day driver’s license restriction, and six points on your driving record.
Second DUI Offense
If you’ve been convicted of an OWI for a second time in Port Huron, you can expect brutal penalties for this misdemeanor offense. A fine of up to $1,000, up to a one year in jail, 30 to 90 days of community service, a license plate confiscation, an immobilized or forfeited vehicle, and six points on your driver’s license are some of the penalties you may be facing. You may also be left with a minimum one-year driver’s license revocation or a minimum five-year revocation if your license has been revoked within the past seven years.
Third or Subsequent DUI Offense
A third or subsequent DUI conviction in Michigan is a felony. If you are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI in Port Huron, you can expect a prison sentence of one to five years, probation paired with a jail sentence of 30 days to a year, fines of up to $5,000, up to 180 days of community service, a revocation of your driver’s license, and six points added to it as well as a confiscation of your license plate and denial of your vehicle registration.
Unlawful Blood Alcohol Content or “Super Drunk” DUI
If you are caught driving with a BAC of .17 or higher in Port Huron, you may be arrested for “Unlawful Blood Alcohol Content” or a “super drunk” DUI. Penalties for being convicted of this misdemeanor for the first time include up to 180 days in jail, up to $700 in fines, up to 360 community services hours, six points on your driver’s license, and a driver’s license suspension for up to one year with the possibility of a restricted license after 45 days if you get an ignition interlock device installed in your car.
Why Hire a Port Huron DUI Lawyer
If you’re facing any of these DUI charges, you are likely fearful of what your future holds. To ensure your rights are protected and possibly avoid a conviction, you should hire attorney Maurice Davis, a highly skilled Port Huron DUI lawyer at Davis Law Group. He is a former prosecutor who understands how the other side thinks and may be able to build a strong defense strategy to reduce or dismiss your charges. His defense may challenge:
- The results of your breath or blood test
- How your breath or blood tests were administered
- The legitimacy of a search warrant
- The legitimacy of the stop
- Whether the police had probable cause to arrest you or informed you of your Miranda rights upon arrest
Contact Davis Law Group Today
For highly skilled legal representation for your DUI arrest, you should call Davis Law Group at (810) 294-8832 to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. We’ll educate you on your legal options and help you decide how to proceed.