Detroit Suspended License Lawyer
Driving without a license is a common charge in Michigan, a state with few public transportation options, in which it can be challenging to get around without a car. It may be tempting to get back behind the wheel after your license suspension. But if you are found driving with a suspended license you could face months to years of jail time and hundreds to thousands of dollars in fines. Depending on the circumstances of your case, the penalties for driving with a suspended license could exceed the penalties resulting from the conviction that resulted in your license suspension in the first place.
Unfortunately, many drivers aren’t aware that their license has been suspended until they’re charged with driving with a suspended license. Whatever the original cause of your license suspension—be it an OWI conviction or a moving violation—it’s important to contact an experienced Michigan criminal defense attorney to fight your driving with a suspended license charges. Penalties for driving with a suspended license in Michigan are severe, with jail time and fines increasing with subsequent violations. For that reason, it’s a smart idea to fight your first offense with the help of a skilled Detroit traffic lawyer.
Penalties for Driving With Suspended License
A person found driving with a suspended license can face severe criminal charges. In most cases, a driver is charged with a misdemeanor for driving with a suspended license; however, in some cases, he or she can face a felony.
- First violation — For a first violation, a driver can face a misdemeanor charge, punishable by up to 93 days incarceration, up to $500 in fines, and cancellation of vehicle registration plates
- Subsequent violation — For a subsequent violation, a driver can face a misdemeanor charge, punishable by up to 1 year incarceration and up to $1,000 in fines; his or her vehicle registration plates may also be cancelled
- Cases involving injury — In cases involving injury, a driver can face a felony charge, punishable by up to 5 years incarceration, between $1,000 and $5,000 in fines, and possible forfeiture of his or her vehicle
- Cases involving death — In cases involving death, a driver can face a felony charge, punishable by up 15 years incarceration and between $2,500 and $10,000 in fines; his or her vehicle may also be forfeited
Penalties for Letting Others Drive With Suspended License
Penalties for driving with a suspended license are harsh. However, they are equally as severe for those who knowingly permit another person to drive on a suspended license. In Michigan, a person can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony if he or she knowingly permits a person whose license was suspended to drive his or her own vehicle. Depending on the circumstances of the case, these charges can result in jail time and fines.
When It’s OK to Drive with a Suspended License—Emergency Situations
Certain circumstances warrant driving on a suspended license. In Michigan, when human life or property is endangered and summoning prompt aid is essential, operating a vehicle exclusively for the purpose of protecting said life or property is permissible even when it involves driving on a suspended license.
Reinstating Your Michigan Driver’s License
Getting around without a vehicle can be a challenge in Michigan where public transportation options are limited and where the weather often prohibits alternate methods of transportation. If you’ve been convicted of a crime that has resulted in the suspension of your license, however, your first course of action should be to seek a suspended license attorney who can help reinstate your driver’s license before considering driving with a suspended license. For help in reinstating your driver’s license, contact a Michigan criminal defense attorney at Davis Law Group today.
How the Skilled Michigan Suspended License Lawyers at Davis Law Group Can Help You
If you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license, you may be frustrated that you’re facing new charges or shocked to learn that your license was suspended in the first place. At Davis Law Group, we’ll work with you get your license back as quickly as possible. In some cases, you may have been wrongly charged with driving with a suspended license; in other cases, you may have been driving for a legal reason. With respect to your situation, we’ll fight to get your charges reduced or dismissed. Call us at (313) 818-3238 today for a free, initial consultation.