Can Snowplow Drivers Be Charged with DUI?Mar 23, 2016, by Criminal Defense, Legal Blog, OWI, Traffic in
In Michigan, it’s against the law for a person over the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08. But certain drivers face even lower limits; the legal BAC limit is only .04 for commercial driver’s license holders.
While DUIs affect everyday drivers in normal conditions, they can also affect those who head to the roads in the harshest conditions, including snowplow drivers. Snowplow drivers, just like everyone else, can be charged with a DUI in Michigan. If you’ve been charged with a DUI while operating a snowplow or other commercial vehicle, you may be facing stricter laws than everyday drivers. Contact a skilled Michigan DUI lawyer at Davis Law Group for a free case evaluation. We have experience handling DUI cases in Detroit, Flint, Port Huron, Southfield, and more.
Michigan DUI Laws
Besides potentially resulting in job loss for commercial driver’s license holders, driving under the influence of alcohol in Michigan can result in hefty penalties and fines, especially if a person is found to have committed multiple DUI offenses.
- First offense — a person can face up to 93 days incarceration, license suspension, and between $100 and $500 in fines for DUI on a first offense
- Second offense — an individual faces 5 days to 1 year incarceration, 30 to 90 days community service, $200 to $1,000 in fines, and at least one year license suspension
- Third offense — a person can face 30 days to 5 years incarceration, between $500 and $5,000 in fines, 60-180 days of community service, and at least 1 year of license suspension
- Underage DUI — A person under the age of 21 found driving under the influence of any amount of alcohol can face up to $250 in fines, up to 360 hours of community service, and a $500 driver responsibility fee each year for 2 years
How the Experienced Michigan DUI Lawyers at Davis Law Group Can Help You
Even before a person’s BAC is tested, an officer can pull someone over and arrest him or her for a DUI simply after observing signs of impairment, including swerving, slurred speech, inflamed eyes, and alcohol-smelling breath. If you’ve been charged with a DUI—regardless of the vehicle type you were driving—contact a skilled Michigan DUI attorney at Davis Law Group today. We have experience defending people against DUI charges and are familiar with the best defense strategies for those facing DUI charges. If an officer didn’t have probably cause to stop you, if you weren’t actually driving, or if the administration of your alcohol or chemical testing was faulty, you may have a defensible case. For a free, initial consultation, contact Davis Law Group at (313) 818-3238 today. We have experience handling DUI cases in Detroit, Flint, Port Huron, Southfield, and more.