Southfield Traffic Lawyer
If you drive a vehicle on a regular basis, you are likely to get a traffic ticket at some point in your life. A ticket can be viewed as a minor matter which you simply pay and then forget about. However, some traffic offenses reach far beyond the simple traffic violation that simply requires a fine. The more serious offenses involving assault with a vehicle, fleeing the scene of an accident, and driving under suspicion, to name just a few, can get you into serious trouble. If you are in this situation right now, a Southfield traffic lawyer with experience can fight to minimize the consequences threatening your freedom.
Davis Law Group is your resource for skilled defense of criminal traffic charges in Southfield, Michigan. Traffic attorney Maurice Davis is an experienced legal advocate who has extensive experience defending clients like you, helping to minimize fines and jail time. As a former prosecutor, attorney Davis understands what it takes to represent you effectively at both the negotiating table and at trial.
Criminal Traffic Offenses
The severity of the charges and penalties you face correspond to the nature of the offense. For instance, a traffic offense can be a felony when another person is injured or killed.
We can handle major traffic offenses as well as minor violations. You should consider seeking legal advice no matter what level of offense you’re facing because the criminal penalties will impact many areas of your life.
Some of the more serious criminal traffic offenses that our team at Davis Law Group handles, include:
When you drive your vehicle over the posted speed limit, you can be ticketed by law enforcement. Points will also be added to your driver’s license, and stay on your driving record for two years. If you drive 10 mph or less over the limit, or drive below the minimum speed limit on a highway, two points will be added to your license. If you drive between 11 and 15 mph over the speed limit, three points will be added to your license. If you drive 15 mph over the speed limit, four points will be added to your license. Depending on the amount of points on your record, you may be warned by the Secretary of State to change your driving habits, or you could even lose your license.
In addition to driver’s license points, you can also be fined for speeding in Southfield. Those amounts are as follows:
- One to five mph over the limit – $90
- Six to 10 mph over the limit – $105
- 11 – 15 mph over the limit – $120
- 16 – 25 mph over the limit – $140
- 26 mph or more over the limit – $155
If you don’t respond to your ticket, the state will assume – by default – that you are guilty. If you ignore paying your fine altogether, your license may be suspended.
In addition to points and fines, you could face criminal charges if your speeding amounts to reckless behavior while behind the wheel. If you’re accused of such actions, contact a Southfield traffic lawyer from Davis Law Group for help.
Operating a vehicle with a disregard for the safety and well-being of others is considered reckless driving under Michigan law. Specific actions that may bring about reckless driving charges include road rage, tailgating, drag racing, excessive speeding, and more. This is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 93 days in jail, and fines reaching $500.
Driving with a suspended license is a common charge in Southfield, and many people don’t even realize their license was suspended until they’re ticketed with the crime. Depending on if you’ve been charged with the offense before, the penalties can vary greatly.
- First violation – For this misdemeanor charge, you face up to 93 days in jail, and $500 in fines. Your vehicle’s registration plates may also be cancelled.
- Subsequent violations – Second and subsequent violations are considered misdemeanors. These are punishable by up to one year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and potential cancellation of your vehicle registration plates.
- Cases that involve injuries – Driving on a suspended license cases that involve injury are considered felonies. As such, they are punishable by up to five years in prison, fines reaching $5,000, and possible forfeiture of your vehicle.
- Cases that involve fatalities – Also considered a felony, driving with a suspended license accidents that involve death are punishable by up to 15 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and potential forfeiture if your vehicle.
More commonly known as “hit and run,” leaving the scene of an accident is a serious offense under Michigan Vehicle Code Section 257.618. In addition to stopping at the scene, you must provide your information, show your driver’s license (if necessary), and provide injured people assistance. If the vehicle you allegedly hit was parked or unattended, you must notify the police or notify the owner. You must also do the same if you hit a “roadside fixture.”
Failure to follow the above requirements is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 90 days in jail, and $100 in fines.
If you fail to remain at the scene of an accident that caused injuries or fatalities, you face even more serious charges:
- Leaving a scene of an accident that caused injury is a misdemeanor. This offense is punishable by up to one year’s incarceration, $1,000 in fines, and a suspension of your driver’s license.
- If you caused an accident that lead to one or more fatalities, and you leave the scene, your actions are considered a felony. Penalties for such an offense include up to 15 years in prison, and $10,000 in fines. If you did not cause the scene, however, the maximum penalty is five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
If you are ticketed for a moving violation that caused another person bodily injury, you can be charged with a misdemeanor, and sentenced to the following:
- $500 in fines
- Points on your driving record
- A driver license suspension of one year
- Up to 93 days in jail
Michigan law states that if you commit a moving violation that causes the death of another individual, you can face misdemeanor charges. Such offenses are punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine reaching $2,000, six points on your driving record, and a hard license suspension of one year.
Collateral Consequences of a Traffic Offense in Michigan
Southfield traffic violations can be misdemeanor or felony crimes. Some of the consequences you may potential face if convicted of a traffic offense charge include:
- Court fees
- Loss of employment that includes driving a vehicle
- Higher vehicle insurance premiums
- Loss of your vehicle
- Civil liability if your offense involved a vehicle accident
Contact an Experienced Southfield Traffic Lawyer
If you are facing a serious traffic charge that threatens to take away your freedom and impose heavy penalties and fines, you need the help of a competent and experienced Southfield traffic attorney. Davis Law Group offers you the resources you need to obtain a vigorous defense of your charges. Attorney Maurice Davis has prior experience as a prosecutor and brings his depth of knowledge and experience to the table to work your case toward the best possible outcome.
Don’t delay getting the professional legal advocacy you need right now. Call our law firm today at (313) 818-3238, or reach out online to help us get started building your case or negotiating for the best options you have available.