How Does Michigan Rank for Drunk Driving?Mar 21, 2018, by Legal Blog, OWI in
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) has issued its 2018 Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving Report in which each state is analyzed regarding its drunk driving laws and their effectiveness.
Getting charged with a DUI/OWI in Michigan can be a daunting experience, and you may be uncertain of what is going to happen next. In times like these, you need an experienced drunk driving lawyer to answer your questions and vigorously work on your behalf.
At Davis Law Group, we understand the pressure you are under in the wake of your DUI charge, and our legal team has the experience to craft an effective defense on your behalf and pursue the best possible outcome in your case.
Call us right away at (313) 818-3238 to set up a free initial consultation.
Michigan’s Rank on the MADD Report
The MADD report ranks Michigan in the bottom 10 percent in the nation, giving it a one-star on a five-star rating scale.
The 50 states were evaluated on five broad categories. These include:
- Performing sobriety checkpoints
- The implementation of ignition interlocks for DUI offenders
- Creating more stringent penalties for drunk driving offenders with children in the vehicle at the time of the incident
- Taking part in “no refusal” activities
- Employing administrative license revocation for DUI offenders
There are two subcategories to each of the five categories in the report. This permitted MADD to assign half-star ratings to the categories to emphasize the need for the state to improve its existing laws.
According to MADD Michigan Victim Services Manager Angel Harris, “Michigan is the second worst state in the country when it comes to enacting drunk driving laws that are proven to save lives.” Michigan experiences 236 drunk-driving deaths per year. Additionally, some 22 percent of traffic fatalities in the state are due to drunk driving, ranking it sixth in the nation for this statistic in 2017. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, an experienced drunk driving lawyer can help you understand the legal options you have and discuss your next steps.
MADD’s Recommendations for Michigan DUI Law
The report provides recommendations for the state of Michigan to improve its drunk driving laws. This includes implementing sobriety checkpoints and passing an all-offender ignition interlock law, administrative license revocation, and a law to make child endangerment in these DUI situations a felony.
Current Michigan law considers any motorist having a blood alcohol content greater than 0.08 to be legally intoxicated. First-time DUI offenders can incur restricted driving privileges, as well as a 93-day jail sentence and a fine of $500. Drivers with a blood alcohol content level greater than 0.17 face more stringent penalties.
However, according to the MADD report, the state needs a lot of work to improve its laws in order to reduce the occurrence of drunk driving and drunk driving related injuries and fatalities.
Contact a Michigan Drunk Driving Lawyer Today
If you are facing a DUI in Michigan, you should obtain the strong advocacy you need to fight the charges against you. At Davis Law Group, our Michigan drunk driving lawyers are here to help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case.
To arrange a free case assessment, contact us today at (313) 818-3238.