Detroit Property Crimes Lawyer
Willfully or maliciously damaging and destroying someone else’s property is a crime Michigan handles very seriously. When you have been charged with arson, you could be facing felony charges if the cost of damages exceeds $1,000. The consequences of a felony can have devastating effects on your life. Even if you never admit what your intention was for committing arson or property damage, the prosecution can convict you if it is discovered that you intended to burn or destroy the property.
Arson is the deliberate act of setting fire to property. There are varying degrees of arson, including:
- First Degree — Under Section 750.72, you may be charged with the felony offense of first degree arson when you maliciously and willfully burn or use an explosive device in a multi-unit building such as an apartment building or office building, any building or structure if it results in injury to a person, or a mine. Michigan statutes allow you to be sentenced to up to life in prison. A judge will make the final decision about your sentence.
- Second Degree — Under Section 750.73 of the Michigan Penal Code, you may be indicted with the felony offense of second degree arson when you maliciously and willfully burn any dwelling. You may be sentenced to years in prison and tens of thousands of dollars in fines.
- Third Degree — Under Section 750.74 of the Michigan Penal Code, you could be facing third degree arson charges, a felony offense, when you intentionally burn any building or structure, any personal property valued at $20,000 or more, or have one or more prior convictions for burning personal property valued at $1,000 or more. The potential consequences for third degree arson may include years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines.
- Fourth Degree — Under Section 750.75 of the Michigan Penal Code, you may be charged with fourth degree arson for intentionally destroying property valued at $1,000 to $20,000. If you have one or more prior convictions for arson involving personal property valued at $200 or more, this is also considered a fourth degree arson charge. The possible penalties for fourth degree arson include the possibility of spending years in prison and paying thousands of dollars in fines.
The deliberation destruction or damage to public or private property is considered vandalism. In Michigan, vandalism charges are complex because a number of statutes covering different forms of this offense are taken into consideration. A knowledgeable Detroit property crimes lawyer can understand your situation and provide you with the best possible defense for the statute under which you are being charged.
If you have been arrested and charged with vandalism, you may not realize the seriousness of the charge. In Michigan, a few small acts of vandalism if the combined damage or destruction is valued at $1,000 or more is considered a felony. Don’t delay in consulting with a Michigan defense attorney to assist you in defending your rights to avoid the level of punishment that the court could demand.
In Michigan, home invasion is a crime taken very seriously and the penalties could be devastating if you are sentenced. In order to be convicted, prosecution must prove that you broke into and entered someone else’s home without permission. The burden of proof is high; however, the criminal penalties that can result from a home invasion conviction are severe. If you have been charged with home invasion in Michigan, the consequences could be life changing, and may require you to serve years in prison.
Home invasion is a charge which means the accused broke into and entered an occupied residential premise using force. There are three degrees of home invasion. Those laws and penalties according to the Michigan Penal Code under section 750.110 are as follows:
- First Degree Home Invasion — You may be charged with first-degree home invasion if you enter a dwelling without permission and with the intent to commit a felony, assault, or larceny, and actually commit a felony, assault, or larceny, and one of the following is true: You are armed with a dangerous weapon or another person is lawfully present in the dwelling. If you’re convicted, first degree home invasion is a felony punishable by years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines.
- Second Degree Home Invasion — You may be charged with second-degree home invasion if you enter a dwelling without permission and with the intent to commit a felony, assault, or larceny, and actually commit a felony, assault, or larceny. If you’re convicted, second-degree home invasion is a felony punishable by years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines.
- Third Degree Home Invasion — You may be charged with third-degree home invasion if you enter a dwelling without permission and with the intent to commit a misdemeanor and actually commit a misdemeanor, or if you violate a protection order, probation, bail or bond. Third degree home invasion is a felony punishable by years in prison and a significant fine.
Contact An Experienced Detroit Property Crimes Lawyer For Your Charge
If you or a family member has been charged with an arson or property offense, or if you are under investigation, the experienced Detroit property crimes lawyers at Davis Law Group PLLC will carefully review the details of your case and work aggressively on your behalf so that you may receive the best possible outcome for your case.
At Davis Law, our Michigan defense attorneys have experience with home property offenses on both sides of the criminal process — both prosecution and defense — which puts us in a strong position to be able to defend you. We know the law and we know how prosecutors think. Let us put our experience to work for you.
Charged with arson, property damage or home invasion? Contact us today.
Your initial consultation will always be free and confidential. Call (313) 818-3238 today or fill out the form below and we will help you.
"*" indicates required fields